Some highlights from this past decade…

Joel Quenneville became the second most winningest NHL coach of all time with 900 wins (second only to Scotty Bowman). Along with those wins, “Coach Q” lead the Chicago Blackhawks to three Stanley Cup Championships (2010, 2013, 2015)

Joining the Pittsburgh Penguins halfway through the 2016 season, Head Coach Mike Sullivan went on to lead the team to capture back-to-back Stanley Cup Championships in 2016 and 2017.

Darryl Sutter also helped his team capture two Stanley Cup Championships this past decade when the Los Angeles Kings brought it home in both 2012 and 2014.

Sitting in last place on January 3, 2019, Head Coach Craig Berube guided the St.Louis Blues from last place in the NHL to a Stanley Cup Championship win that June, the franchise’s first Stanley Cup.

It’s often said that the Stanley Cup is the hardest trophy to win in professional sports, so we would be remiss if we didn’t also congratulate the two other coaches who hoisted the cup above their heads this past decade…

In 2011, Boston Bruins Head Coach Claude Julien lead his Boston Bruins to win the Stanley Cup Championship for the first time in almost 40 years.

In 2018, Washington Capitals Head Coach Barry Trotz lead the team to their first ever Stanley Cup Championship win.

NHL Head Coaches who surpassed the “1,000 NHL games coached” mark during the past decade:
Joel Quenneville – 1,672
Barry Trotz – 1,642
Ken Hitchcock – 1,598
Paul Maurice – 1,567
Lindy Ruff – 1,493
Mike Babcock – 1,301
John Tortorella – 1,295
Jacques Martin – 1,294
Darryl Sutter – 1,285
Jacques Lemaire – 1,262
Alain Vigneault – 1,253
Claude Julien – 1,222
Peter Laviolette – 1,206
Marc Crawford – 1,169
Dave Tippet – 1,155

NHL Head Coaches who racked up 700+ wins during the last decade:
Joel Quenneville – 908
Ken Hitchcock – 849
Barry Trotz – 833
Lindy Ruff – 736
Paul Maurice – 716
Mike Babcock – 700

Jack Adams Award Winners from 2010 to 2019:
Dave Tippet (2010)
Dan Byslma (2011)
Ken Hitchcock (2012)
Paul MacLean (2013)
Patrick Roy (2014)
Bob Hartly (2015)
Barry Trotz (2016)
John Tortorella (2017)
Gerard Gallant (2018)
Barry Trotz (2019)